Hanoi, Vietnam : Hoa Lo Prison

I am not a fan of museum but this one definitely worth my USD0.50cents (it supposed to be USD$1.00 but I got 50% after using my fake student ID that I got in Bangkok last year). Hahaha! What a cheapskate.
This thought-provoking site is all that remains of the former Hoa Lo Prison, ironically nicknamed the ‘Hanoi Hilton’ by US POWs during the American War. Those incarcerated at Hoa Lo included Pete Peterson, who later became the first US Ambassador to a unified Vietnam in 1995, and Senator John McCain (the Republican nominee for the US presidency in 2008).
hanoi-prison
When other people (visitors) really “into” all the details in this prison, I giggled my life out on certain finds especially when President Ho Chi Minh called those American prisoners “Yanks” in his Spring 1969 New Year’s message. Am I insensitive?
Also, this visit force me to label France as “pot calling kettle black” to America. Seriously, during the colonial time, they torture the Vietnamese, beheaded them and all, but during the Vietnam War, who the hell are they to call American as inhumane? Heh! Same same but different.
Also learning that actually American war prisoners being treated kindda well in Hoa Lo Prison compare to what they did to Vietnam and it’s people; if I am a Vietnamese, I’ll hate those Yanks (well, according to Ho Chi Minh) forever.
Leave a Reply

